Board Members

There are 12 voting members of the board made up as follows: The ex-officio officers of the three professional organisations, four lay members and four registrant members. The Board may also co-opt up to four non-voting members.

Profiles for board members can accessed by clicking on individual names.

Current Members
Professional Assoications
Karen Murphy (AHPCC)
(Simon Harrison (CHCC)

Robert Sloan ( NIHCA)

Paul Graham (Scottish Lead Chaplains Group)

Lay Members
Ed Carpenter  (Treasurer)
Maura Devlin


Mark Stobert (Chairperson)
Derek Fraser
 Paul Nash 
Philip Wright 
Simon Betteridge

Cameron Langlands

Derek Johnson (Secretary)

Co-opted Members
Iain Macritchie (NHS Education for Scotland)
Debbie Hodge (Healthcare Chaplaincy Faith and Belief Group)

Mark Rogers
Please Note: The Registrar is an officer of the board, reports to the Board and is in attendance at Board meetings but does not have voting rights.

More in this section


This page is created by WP Freshtart 4 WordPress plugin.

Articles of Association and Standing Orders

On 11th September 2015 The UK Board of Healthcare Chaplaincy was registered with Companies house as UKBHC Ltd,  a Private Company Limited by Gurantee.  The Articles of Association detail the…

Being a Chaplain

Chaplains have been caring for patients and staff in UK hospitals for over a thousand years. Today the chaplain is looked to as a professional figure with expertise to provide…


This page is created by WP Freshtart 4 WordPress plugin.

Professional Associations

UKBHC exists to support the work of the four professional chaplaincy bodies in the UK.  The board ewas formed through a Memorandum of Understanding which gave the Board powers to pursue…