One of the key challenges of healthcare chaplaincy has been establishing an evidence base: What do chaplains do and what services do they provide? The Standards for Chaplaincy Services provide a description of chaplaincy services that is recognisable to NHS managers and the healthcare professions. Each standard has a rational, a statement and measurable descriptive criteria.  The standards are as follows:

  1. Spiritual and religious care;
  2. Access to chaplaincy services;
  3. Partnership with faith communities and belief groups;
  4. Staff support;
  5. Education training and research;
  6. Resources;
  7. Chaplaincy to the hospital or unit;

Service assessment and audit

The standards have an accompanying audit tool which can be used to provide chaplaincy services with a baseline from which chaplaincy services can be understood, measured and shown to be effective.  The self-assessment audit tool is an essential tool when having to justify chaplaincy service resources or as part of a service review.

UK wide and National Versions

The UKBHC version is the recommended standard for use throughout the UK

UKBHC Standards 2020

UKBHC Standards Audit.

However the standards are available in a number of versions across the UK.  Originally developed as Standards for Hospice and Palliative Care Chaplaincy by the AHPCC in 2003 then revised in 2006, they were adapted and published for NHS Chaplaincy Services in 2007 by the professional organisations in partnership with NHS Education for Scotland and are recognised in Northern Ireland and have been branded and published by in Wales.

Hospice and Palliative Care Chaplains

Hospice and Palliative Care chaplains should also download the AHPCC Standards for Hospice and Palliative Care Chaplaincy which have an additional Standard 3 on Multidisciplinary team working.UKBHC Standards Audit